Author Topic: Putting together the bigger picture for the beginner  (Read 6771 times)

AGFF

• New Site Member
Putting together the bigger picture for the beginner
« on: February 05, 2012, 09:46:26 AM »
Ok, so I'm new to HAM, hearing so far you recommending to buy after passing the test, ok - me and my budget are good with that! 

That being said, could we do a skip ahead for the big picture (and budgeting for the future) on what I'm looking at for $/equipment to be able to do a multitude of things.  I always like to know the end goal - seems to make the road there a bit straighter.

My goals (as of now I think - subject to change and learning) are the following.

#1 - comms around 20 miles and under reliable in all conditions between me and a prepping friend.  Additional criteria here would be ability to transmit (tx?) and receive (rx??) while stationary at our acreages, while mobile in vehicles  in the same range area or heading one place to the other, and finally - can a hand held do this so we could have comms out hunting in the same woods - or is that a separate system.  So what type of equipment/ band / $ does this require?

#2 - regional comms to rx from long distance and if things are OK tx as well - more for information receiving as a primary, tx as a secondary (again subject to change) this would not be mobile in nature. 

#3 - solar power supplys for both situations above

#4 - whats the difference between the 3 license classes?

#5 - THANKS!

#3 - solar power supply for #1 then #2 as well.

GDP

• Global Moderator
  • Extra Class
Re: Putting together the bigger picture for the beginner
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2012, 10:49:07 AM »
Really quick suggestions:

#1 - A 2 meter mobile rig for each of you will most likely give you the 20-mile comms (communications).  A 2 meter handheld would work in the woods to talk back to the vehicle.  A mobile rig new <$300, used <$200.  HH (handheld)  new <$200, used <$100