Author Topic: Video on Programming the BaoFeng BF-F8HP radio using Chirp and repeaterbook.com  (Read 3726 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Karma: 222
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

spacecase0

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
  • Karma: 34
    • my spiritual forum
you are doing some neat things with this website,

I met someone over the radio,
and he had seen this website,
I don't think he will join (if you are wondering),
be had read my posts and knew who I was here
pretty sure he read all that before I told him I was a member here, he reminded me of things I had posted and forgot about.
just to let you know that it seems like you are reaching a pretty big group of people out there (at least it seems that way if I randomly met one person, and he knew of the site and what we talk about, and it was the only new person I met that month )

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Karma: 222
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Thanks Space.  I am getting hits from all over the world and people are reading the new blog posts. 

I am trying hard to make this the "go to site" for ham radio/prepping
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

dangerdan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: 6
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra class operator /VE
Good works AD ..,but they better hurry up and get here .


73

DD

tazdevil

  • New Site Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
Just programmed a bf-f8hp for a friend last night using Chirp, the only thing it would not do is upload the repeater call sign,(which do not show on the radio anyway), I was surprised that it went so smoothly with all the problems everyone else was having. I downloaded the original programming to chirp which, as I understand, keeps the chipset in Chirp, but I'm not that computer savvy so maybe I was just lucky.

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Karma: 222
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Taz

Did you what the video first?

Did you save the basic F8HP file?

If you press the VFO/MR button the display changes from freq (column 1) to the call sign or what ever is in column2 (Name)

You can modify that second column and put any title/name in there you want. 


« Last Edit: April 23, 2015, 08:54:16 AM by AD »
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

tazdevil

  • New Site Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: 1
  • Gender: Male
1. didn't watch video, will do before I try again
2. saved the original file
3 don't know about that one, first time with the F8HP, just considered myself lucky that it accepted the programming

DragoSapien

  • Prepper
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 262
  • Karma: 22
  • Gender: Male
    • Desert Rat Preppers
I gave one of these away at a trade show I was in as a free raffle. Many of the people that came by my booth wanted to buy it. But I was already advertised as a raffle. I would like to be a dealer for them and start selling them my self.

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Karma: 222
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
You should.  There is a guy here in AZ that posts on Craigslit that for$20 he will program the Baofeng radios for folks.  Sell the radio and program it for,them.

http://phoenix.backpage.com/SportsEquipForSale/20-ham-radio-programming/33367391
« Last Edit: August 01, 2015, 01:03:13 PM by AD »
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!

DragoSapien

  • Prepper
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 262
  • Karma: 22
  • Gender: Male
    • Desert Rat Preppers
That's just what I was thinking, Many of them asked if I could program it for them.

AD

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Karma: 222
  • Gender: Male
  • Extra Class Ham Radio Op / VE, CERT
Just be careful about programming Amateur radio frees for a non ham.  I would require a waver if you do.  But that's just me. 
The only dumb question is the one that did not get asked!!